Faculty

The Graduate Program in Theatre & Performance Studies is proud of its accomplished, award-winning faculty. Faculty members are listed here based on their primary program (or faculty) appointment.

All faculty listed here are eligible to serve on masters and doctoral committees. However, please note that only those faculty with an asterisk (*) beside their name are eligible to serve as PhD dissertation supervisors.

 

Members of Graduate Executive:

 

Magdalena Kazubowski-Houston*

Graduate Program Director, MA & PhD

Anthropologist, performance theorist and theatre director.  Research interests include: performance of migration and exile, decolonizing research methodologies, race and ethnicity, imaginative and performance ethnography, violence and terrorism, affect theory and embodiment, gender and sexuality, political and activist performance, community-based theatre, physical theatre, research-creation, practice-based research.  Founding member of the Centre for Imaginative Ethnography.  She is the 2014 recipient of the School of Arts, Media, Performance and Design Junior Faculty Teaching Award in recognition of her contribution to excellence in teaching in the Department of Theatre
gpdtaps@yorku.ca
Profile


Alberto Guevara *

Contemporary performance theory and practice; theatricality of violence, nationalism and spectacle; ethnographic methodologies; the body in performance; evocation through film and theatre/performances of resistance; power and revolution, power and protest; and postcolonial theory; areas of expertise are Latin America, Nicaragua, Nepal and Canada.
aguevara@yorku.ca
Profile


Elizabeth A. Pentland

Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; political relations in England’s literature during French civil wars.
pent@yorku.ca
Profile


Danielle Robinson *

Dance Ethnography; cultural studies; dance history; critical race theory; social dance reconstruction; multicultural dance education; popular dance practices; African diaspora within the Americas; Latin American dance cultures.
drobin@yorku.ca
Profile


Belarie Zatzman*

Drama and education; theatre for young audiences; arts education; Holocaust education
bzatzman@yorku.ca
Profile


 

Theatre & Performance Studies Faculty

Patrick Alcedo*

Southeast Asian dance; folk festival production and cultural authenticity; cultural heritage and communal expressions.
alcedo@yorku.ca
Profile


Natalie Alvarez

(Adjunct Faculty)
Research interests include: performance theory; North American contemporary performance; performativity in simulations and reenactment culture; Latina/o-Canadian theatre and performance; genealogies of nostalgia and performance; as well as performance analysis and pedagogy.
nalvarez@brocku.ca
Profile


Eric Armstrong

Voice and speech.
armstro@yorku.ca
Profile


Elizabeth Asselstine

Department of Theatre; Lighting design, photography of light
eaa@yorku.ca
Profile


Erika Batdorf

Performer, choreographer, playwright and director; mime, clown, comedienne, masks, voice and dance. Recipient of York Faculty of Fine Arts Dean's Senior Teaching award 2009/10.
ebatdorf@yorku.ca
Profile


Guillaume Bernardi *

Multiculturalism and transculturalism; music; theatre.
gbernardi@gl.yorku.ca
Profile


Rhonda Blair

(Adjunct Faculty)
Main areas of interest include acting theory — particularly looking at applications of cognitive science to the acting process —, performance studies, theatre and politics, feminism and theatre, alternative performance, and Chekhov. Southern Methodist University.
rblair@smu.edu
Profile


Marcia S. Blumberg

Theatre, Arts and Culture; Contemporary theatre; South African theatre.
blumberg@yorku.ca
Profile


Katherine Boydell

(Adjunct Faculty)
Exploration of the methodological, theoretical and ethical challenges of engaging with arts-based research. Engages arts-based methods in the creation and dissemination of research. University of Toronto, Department of Psychiatry, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, and Senior Scientist and Scientific Director of Qualitative Inquiry, Hospital for Sick Children.
katherine.boydell@sickkids.ca
Profile


Ines Buchli

Acting and directing; dramaturg, filmmaker, and writer.
ibuchli@yorku.ca
Profile


Kym Bird *

Canadian Women’s Drama 1880–1920; early and contemporary Canadian women’s writing.
kbird@yorku.ca
Profile


Sheila Cavanaugh

Gender and sexuality studies; body studies; film studies; queer and psychoanalytic theory.
sheila@yorku.ca
Profile


Gwenyth Dobie

(Graduate Program Director, MFA)

Movement for actors, devised theatre, the Alexander Technique, acting pedagogy, and stage direction.
gdobie@yorku.ca
Profile


Jennifer Fisher *

Contemporary art and cultural studies; art history; curatorial practice, display culture and the aesthetics of non-visual senses; contemporary art.
jefish@yorku.ca
Profile


Mary Fogarty*

Dance scholar and cultural sociologist whose research interests include popular culture, dance education, music, aesthetics, critical posthumanism, dance, communication, cultural studies and enviromental sustainability. Specializes in researching the dance style known as breaking (or b-boying/b-girling)
maryf@yorku.ca
Profile


Honor Ford-Smith

Performance and social movements; race, gender, nation and colonialism and post-colonialism, Caribbean societies and their diasporas, community and environmental arts and education.
hoperoad@yorku.ca
Profile


Robert Fothergill

(Professor Emeritus)
Theatre history, Shakespeare studies, modern and contemporary drama, playwriting.

robf@yorku.ca
Profile


Ian Garrett

Sustainability and design, theatre production and administration.
igarrett@yorku.ca
Profile


R. Darren Gobert *

Comparative modern and contemporary Western drama; dramatic and performance theory; 17th-century French theatre; philosophy of theatre.
gobert@yorku.ca
Profile


Terry Goldie *

Canadian and postcolonial literatures; gay studies; sexuality studies; literary theory.
tgoldie@yorku.ca
Profile


David B. Goldstein

Sixteenth- and seventeenth-century British literature including Shakespeare, performance studies, theatre history, food studies, poetry writing, avant garde poetry and poetics, literary and cultural theory, and book history.
dgolds@yorku.ca
Profile


Kathleen Gould-Lundy*

Co-ordinator of Destination Arts in Faculty of Education.  Literacy, equity, arts educator, inventive inclusive teaching for at-risk students.
kgouldlundy@edu.yorku.ca
Profile


Michael Greyeyes

Devised theatre, acting, dance, choreography, movement for actors, ensemble creation, indigeneity.
greyeyes@yorku.ca
Profile


John Greyson

Filmmaker, video artist, writer, activist, and educator.
greyzone@yorku.ca
Profile


Julia Harrison

Primarily interested in the nature of the tourist interaction and experience; and most recently on Ontario cottage culture. Other research interests include the politics of representation of Canadian Aboriginal cultures in museums; the history of Canadian anthropology; and the culture of non-profit institutions.
jharrison@trentu.ca
Profile


Sharon Hayashi

Architecture and Cinema, New Media and New Social Movements, Historiography, Politics of Archives, Japanese Cinema and Media Studies.
hayashi@yorku.ca
Profile


Kirsty Johnston

Adjunct Faculty

Specializes in dramatic literature and theatre history with particular interest in disability arts and intersections between health, disability and performance.

kirsty.johnston@ubc.ca

Profile


Patricia Keeney

Canadian drama and theatre; Canadian drama by and about women; modern Canadian culture and literature; children's theatre and literature; theatre and poetry; creative writing.
patdon@yorku.ca
Profile


Shawn Kerwin

Stage and costume design.
shawn@yorku.ca
Profile


Paul Lampert

Acting; directing.
plampert@yorku.ca
Profile


Laura Levin *

Contemporary theatre and performance art; performance theory and disciplinary genealogies in performance studies; gender and sexuality in/as performance; urban, site-specific, and environmental performance; performance, space, and cultural geography; intermedial, digital, and online performance; practice as research; devised theatre practice; photographic theory and performative photography; intersections of performance and the visual art

levin@yorku.ca
Profile


Gabriel Levine

Adjunct Faculty

Interdisciplinary performance, performance studies
political and aesthetic theory and performance object theatre, puppetry and material performance, postcolonial and Indigenous theatre and performance twentieth-century and contemporary theatre, vernacular music and arts

gabriel.levine@concordia.ca

Profile


Kenneth Little

Analysis of society as spectacle, visual culture, and popular cultural performance in both Euro-North American and postcolonial societies.
wkl@yorku.ca
Profile


William J Mackwood

Design and production, lighting, dance video, intermedial performance
mackwood@yorku.ca
Profile


Janine Marchessault

Cites and cinema; feminist/post-colonial media; social media and activism; film festivals and utopias; micro-cinemas; curatorial studies; theories of spectatorship; phenomenology and affect; experimental cinema.
jmarches@yorku.ca
Profile


John Mayberry

Master of Winters College.  Theatre Production. Current research interests include 19th century theatrical effects, ritual drama, street theatre, and health and safety issues in the entertainment industry.
mayberry@yorku.ca
Profile


James McKernan

Theatre production, sustainable theatrical scenographic technologies.
mckernan@yorku.ca
Profile


Peter McKinnon

Interim Master of Winters College.  Stagecraft, theatre management, design and production.
mckinnon@yorku.ca
Profile


Allyson Mitchell

Feminist performance art, fat activism, craft resistance, feminist theory, popular culture.
mail@allysonmitchell.com
Profile


Gail Mitchell *

Integrating the arts in research dissemination; the ethics of nursing practice and education; nursing knowledge and nursing theory; transformative leadership; unitary thinking & global health; human science nursing; lived experiences of dementia and diabetes; ehealth technology; teaching-learning through discussion; human becoming theory and criticism; development of moral consciousness.
gailm@yorku.ca
Profile


Julie Nagam

(Adjunct Faculty)
Space, place and race, Indigenous, cultural and post-colonial theory, art and activism.
j.nagam@uwinnipeg.ca
Profile


Modupe Olaogun *

Aesthetics of African drama; African literature; postcolonial literatures.
olaogun@yorku.ca
Profile


 

Teresa Przybylski

Theatre design.
teresap@yorku.ca
Profile


Don Rubin *

Canadian theatre and cultural politics; Canadian theatre history; Modern and Contemporary Canadian and world theatre; applied theatre criticism; African theatre and drama; Ibsen, Strindberg and Chekhov; Modern Drama and the avantgarde; Shakespeare and the Authorship Question; theatre publishing.
drubin@yorku.ca
Profile


Judith Rudakoff *

Developmental dramaturgy; contemporary Canadian theatre and dance; playwriting.
rudakoff@yorku.ca
Profile


Julie Salverson

(Adjunct Faculty)
Political popular theatre, community engaged theatre, critical pedagogy, playwriting; violence, witnessing and testimony in performance. Playwright, Instructor, Libbrettist, Queen's University.
salversn@queensu.ca
Profile


Leslie Sanders *

African American literature; black writers in Canada; Women’s studies.
leslie@yorku.ca
Profile


Barbara Sellers-Young

Interdisciplinary scholar in the fields of dance, theatre and performance. Her interest in all forms of art and diverse performance styles informs her research on the moving body and globalization.
basyoung@yorku.ca
Profile


Marlis Schweitzer *

Theatre history & historiography; consumer and commodity culture; 19th and early 20th century popular entertainment; fashion studies; gender and sexuality in/ as performance; transnational performance culture; theories of material culture.
schweit@yorku.ca
Profile


David Smukler

(Professor Emeritus)
Voice; directing; experimental theatre. Awarded a 2000-2001 Graduate Teaching Award from the Faculty of Graduate Studies.
dsmukler@yorku.ca
Profile


Jenn Stephenson

Renaissance drama, contemporary Canadian drama, metatheatricality, autobiographical performance, and performativity in fictional worlds-within. Undergraduate Chair, Drama, Queen’s University.
jenn.stephenson@queensu.ca
Profile


Ross Stuart *

Musical theatre history and practice; Canadian theatre history; summer festivals and theatres, Stratford Festival history and practice; improvisation and adaptation, play development and production for educational and community theatre, playwriting.
rstuart@yorku.ca
Profile


Doug Van Nort*

Digital performance, performance and sensorial immersion in technologically-mediated environments.
vannort@yorku.ca
Profile-


Mark Wilson

Directing; acting.
pitwil@yorku.ca
Profile


 

Hersh Zeifman

Canadian drama; Contemporary British and American drama; Samuel Beckett.
hzeifman@yorku.ca


Joyce Zemans

Arts and media; Administration; Non-profit management and leadership.
jzemans@yorku.ca
Profile


Cynthia Zimmerman

Canadian theatre and literature in English; Sharon Pollock; dramatic writing by contemporary women; psychological approaches to literature.
czimmer@yorku.ca